Own Permissions

User Role Editor uses own permissions (user capabilities) to manage access to its functionality:

User Role Editor custom capabilities

User Role Editor custom capabilities

User Role Editor own user capabilities

User Capability Description Free Pro
ure_create_capabilities Add new user capability
Add new user capability
Yes Yes
ure_create_roles Add new user role
Add new user role
Yes Yes
ure_delete_capabilities Delete unused user capability
Delete unused user capability
Yes Yes
ure_delete_roles Delete unused user roles
Delete unused user role
Yes Yes
ure_edit_roles General access to the User Role Editor (Menu “Users – User Role Editor”)
User Role Editor
Yes Yes
ure_manage_options Access to the User Role Editor options page (Menu “Settings – User Role Editor”)
User Role Editor options page
Yes Yes
ure_reset_roles Reset roles to their default state as just after fresh WordPress installation
Reset roles to default state
Yes Yes
ure_admin_menu_access Allows to use Admin menu access add-on
Admin menu access
No Yes
ure_edit_posts_access Allows to use Edit posts access add-on No Yes
ure_export_roles Export roles to a file at your local disk
Export roles
No Yes
ure_front_end_menu_access Allows to use “Show/Hide front-end menu item for logged-in user / not-logged-in visitors / selected roles” add-on (more info…)
Front-end menu items view access
No Yes
ure_import_roles Import roles from earlier exported file
Import roles
No Yes
ure_other_roles_access Allows to use Other roles access add-on
Other roles access
No Yes
ure_plugins_activation_access Allows to use Plugins activation access add-on
Plugins activation access for role
No Yes
ure_view_posts_access Allows to use Content View Restrictions meta-box
View posts access
No Yes
ure_widgets_access Allows to use Widgets access add-on
Widgets access
No Yes